Hounds acquire 2011 Rookie of the Year

12/7/11 1:00 AM

Hounds acquire 2011 Rookie of the Year



Contact: Wade Leaphart | @Leaphart3


Hounds Select Jeremy Boltus with First Pick in 2012 MLL Expansion Draft

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (December 7, 2011) – The Charlotte Hounds have acquired the 2011 MLL Rookie of the Year, Jeremy Boltus, with their first pick (#2 overall) in the 2012 MLL Expansion Draft.

Selected with the Hamilton Nationals’ eighth round pick in the 2011 MLL Collegiate Draft, the former United States Military Academy attackman was the Nationals’ leading goal scorer with 19 goals and contributed 11 assists, which ranked third on the team. Boltus tallied a point in all 12 games while scoring a goal in seven straight games on his way to becoming the Nationals’ second- leading scorer with 30 points, which led all MLL rookies.

Boltus earned Cascade MLL Rookie of the Week honors twice in 2011, in addition to being named MLL Offensive Player of the Week on June 27 after leading the Nationals to a pair of wins over the Rochester Rattlers. He was named 2011 Cascade MLL Rookie of the Year on August 17 and recently received a 2011 Laxie Award for Breakthrough Player of the Year by Inside Lacrosse.

“It’s humbling knowing that the Charlotte Hounds see me as part of the foundation of the organization,” said Boltus. “I am also thrilled to be playing alongside a dynamic player like Billy Bitter and also getting a chance to reunite and play with Ryan Flanagan as it didn't work out last season when we were both picked to play for Hamilton. The core group of guys already in Charlotte will give the fans a lot to cheer about this upcoming season.”

Twitter: @J_Boltus2


About Charlotte Hounds

In January 2011, Major League Lacrosse announced a league expansion for the 2012 season that included Columbus, OH and Charlotte, NC. The Hounds will play all home games at historic American Legion Memorial Stadium. For more information, please visit

Twitter: @CharlotteMLL


About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft will take place on January 13, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA. The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. For more information, please visit

Twitter: @MLL_Lacrosse


04/23 7:30PM EST vs Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
04/30 7:30PM EST vs Rattlers Buy Tickets More Info
05/14 7:30PM EST vs Launch Buy Tickets More Info
05/21 5:00PM EST @ Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
06/03 7:30PM EST @ Bayhawks More Info
06/09 7:30PM EST vs Machine Buy Tickets More Info
06/11 7:00PM EST @ Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
06/18 7:00PM EST @ Launch Buy Tickets More Info
06/25 7:30PM EST vs Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
07/01 8:00PM EST @ Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
07/16 4:30PM EST @ Rattlers More Info
07/23 7:30PM EST vs Outlaws Buy Tickets More Info
07/30 5:00PM EST @ Outlaws More Info
08/06 7:30PM EST vs Bayhawks Buy Tickets More Info